Christian van hemert

Preselection confirmed for the Choice Music Prize Awards

The ten best Irish albums of the year have just been announced by the Choice Music Prize Awards.

The shortlist was revealed by co-founder and chairman Jim Carroll yesterday afternoon. The list is as follows.

  1. Biceps | He is
  2. Elaine Mai | Homepage
  3. For those I love | For those I love
  4. Indoor plants | Dried products
  5. Kojaque | The city is dead
  6. Mick Flannery and Susan O’Neill | In the game
  7. Orla Gartland | Woman on the Internet
  8. Holy Sister | Where i should end up
  9. Blond Soda | Banalities
  10. Villager | Fever dreams

There are also several surprising omissions on this list, including James Vincent McMorrow, John Francis Flynn, Fears, Wyvern Lingo, and The Altered Hours.

Meanwhile, the Song of the Year shortlist will be unveiled on January 26.

This ceremony will take place in Vicar Street on Thursday March 3 from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.

This ceremony will also see our very own Kieran McGuinness from The Nova Guestlist With Kieran McGuinness featured on the jury.

“The creativity and diversity found in Irish music”

These awards once again celebrate the best Ireland has to offer.

The winning act will also receive € 10,000. This is also funded by the Irish Music Rights Organization (IMRO), as well as the Irish Recorded Music Association.

Keith Johnson is the Director of Marketing and Membership for IMRO. He also had this to say.

“Despite the huge challenges, 2021 has turned out to be an incredible year for new music releases in Ireland. The RTÉ Choice Music Prize provides a glimpse of the great amount of creativity and diversity that can be found in Irish music today. IMRO is delighted to continue its long-standing association with this prestigious music award which recognizes some of our best songwriters and performers ”.

Tickets for this event go on sale this Friday. Check it out here.

Despite seeing his Vicar Street concerts wiped out due to Covid, Irish music legend Christy Moore received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the RTE Radio Folk Awards last November. More on that here.